What have I been up to lately?

On assessment, the short answer seems to be ‘sweet bugger all’, but upon looking at the wider scope of things, I appear to be quite busy.

  • We put our house on the market about two months ago; it sold last week.
  • I’m doing another business course, a Cert IV this time. I absolutely loathe it. But, if all goes well, I’ll be able to drop it when we move in favour of an actual job and a possible university course next year.
  • We’ve been packing our house in order to be ready to move by June (or July, still not 100% since no one here tells me anything!)
  • One of my favourite birds died. Admittedly, this wasn’t a hindrance, he had been sick for a while and we were expecting it, but I was a bit out of sorts for a while. This picture was taken about a week before he died. RIP Yoshi; your silly songs and dances will be missed.

ImageSo, insofar as those things go, the titular ‘things I do’ have been put on the back burner. I haven’t done any cross stitch or crocheting in ages, and it feels all kinds of wrong. I have, however, been writing my bony little fingers off writing Harry Potter fan fiction fest pieces. Yes, laugh if you will, but I love writing, and doing fan fiction has been one of the best ways I’ve found just to practice writing techniques, and I feel as though my writing has improved a thousand times over because of it. The story I’m writing now is a piece I’m exceptionally proud of, and I’m feeling very good about the other one I’ve got lined up, too.

I’ve been catching up on reading, too, as I have far too many books on my shelf that I’ve yet to crack, so I figured I’d finally give ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ a look in. I’m still only reading the first book, but I can understand the fuss is about. I can’t wait to be one of the pompous types who isn’t at all surprised by the goings-on in the show, smugly looking down upon my mum and brother and saying, “I knew that was going to happen.”

So, yes. If you’re one of my readership, I would first suggest you find something better to do, as I’m about as dull as dishwater. But if for some reason you actually somewhat enjoy my narcissist ramblings,  I thank you, I just wish I was a tad more interesting to appease you. If it helps, here’s a picture of my puppy, though he’s not much of a puppy anymore.

ImageDon’t let those eyes fool you; he was fed not an hour before that photo was taken.

Leave a Reply

