Why do I watch anime when I do nothing but pick?

I’m not by any stretch a connoisseur of anime. I like what I like and that’s about it. One I did get really into, and by ‘into’ I mean I watched and bought the anime and subsequently the manga, was Cardcaptor Sakura. Sure, I’m 23 and I think it’s aimed at 10 year olds but I love it! I remember watching it when I was 10, but that was the god-awful dub that aired on Cartoon Network. Long since I’ve watched it undubbed and loved it, watching it over again right now actually! I love how it seems like a kids show but there’s so much else to it, it’s really quite a deep and nuanced program, if a little sickly sweet in the process of coming to such grandiose and heartfelt conclusions!

Anyway… as I said, I’ve been watching it again and I know it’s likely the case with most animes, but the characters are 10 and if we look at the proportionally they’re probably around six feet tall. But if kids are tall and long legged, then what the hell does it make the adults?! The kids barely come up to any adult characters elbow! I watch anime and all I can think of is The Tallest from ‘Invader Zim’! It’s such a little (or over nine foot…) thing but it bugs me, and I’m not sure why… maybe it’s because I don’t watch CCS to think about the Irkan Invasion…

Leave a Reply

